Annually, the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) honors elementary schools that earn Academic Excellence.

For the fourth consecutive year, our community can celebrate that every District 96 elementary and middle school earned Academic Excellence recognition from the Illinois State Board of Education.

What is required for a school to earn ISBE Academic Excellence recognition? The school must have 90 percent of students meeting or exceeding state standards in both reading and math for the 3 most recent years, as well as have earned Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as required by No Child Left Behind for the current and previous year.

In Illinois, 438 schools achieved Academic Excellence recognition for 2011. The fact that District 96 schools are included on this honor roll for the fourth consecutive year is compelling evidence that our teachers and faculty are using benchmarks, common assessments, interventions, and best practices effectively to support learning for every District 96 student.

Congratulations, students and faculty of Woodlawn, Twin Groves, Prairie, Kildeer, Ivy Hall, and Country Meadows!